REVIEW: The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent

Rated R • Score: 9.5/10

This isn’t the *best* movie I’ve seen this year, but it’s perhaps my favorite.

Starting Nicolas Cage as a fictionalized version of himself and Pedro Pascal, this is a joyous, comedic and adventure-packed ride through the hills of coastal Spain.

I’m a huge fan of Cage and his work, and Unbearable Weight is a master class of Nic Cage at his best. Its meta approach throughout is successful without being overbearing, or overshadowing the actor’s genuine excellence in his field.

Likewise, Pascal shows his range as an actor and adept understanding of the importance of character.

Just buckle in, because you’re in for a great ride.

For me, this film had very few issues—one of them was brief moments of awkwardness, but it seemed designed that way, so I can look past it.

I’m interested in the rewatchability of this film. If it can land on its feet in a second viewing, it will be among my favorite of Cage’s films.

The bottom line: Must see. It’s Nic Cage, after all. 9.5/10